The Commission on Higher Education (CHED) approved the appointment of the new members of the Technical Panel for Pharmacy (TPP), which is composed of distinguished experts in the field coming from the academe, government, pharmaceutical industry, and various associations of the pharmacy practice.

The new members of TPP took their oath of office virtually, which was administered by CHED Chairman Popoy De Vera on August 23, 2021.

The reconstituted TP-Pharma is headed by Dr. Aleth Therese L. Dacanay, Dean of the School of Pharmacy, University of Santo Tomas, and Immediate Past President, Philippine Association of Colleges of Pharmacy.

Representing the academe is Dr. Imelda G. Pena, who is a Professor of the College of Pharmacy, University of the Philippines-Manila.

From the government are Dr. Mildred B. Oliveros, a member of the Board of Pharmacy, Professional Regulation Commission, and Ms. Ma. Lourdes C. Santiago, Former Deputy Director General, Food and Drug Administration.

The pharmaceutical industry representatives on the other hand include the President of the Federation of Asian Pharmaceutical Associations Dr. Yolanda R. Robles; Atty. Jose Maria A. Ochave, Senior Vice President and Executive Committee Member, United Laboratories, Inc., and President, Ritemed Philippines, Inc.; and Ms. Rosario C. Barangan, Vice President for Manufacturing, E.L. Laboratories.

“Pharmacists in the country and around the world have continued to provide direct patient care and perform frontline duties for the communities during this pandemic, as they can play a pivotal role in disease prevention, management, and containment,” De Vera said.

“The appointment of the newly-reconstituted Technical Panel for Pharmacy is an imperative to continually support the Commission towards quality pharmacy education,” he added.

The roles of these pharmacists who are experts in their own special fields and representing the various sectors shall comprise a reliable, resilient, innovative, responsive and strong advisory arm of the Commission in policy formulation and implementation consistent with the principles of transparency, accountability and participation.

“I ask our new members of the Technical Panel for Pharmacy to brief the Commission by guiding us on areas that are within your competence. We need you to be part of our Technical Working Groups that will address very important questions facing higher education. Without you, the Commission will not be able to respond to these very rapid and urgent concerns that we have,” De Vera said.


Commission on Higher Education

Download PDF version