The Commission on Higher Education (CHED) approved the appointment of the new members of the Technical Panel for Political Science (TPPS) composed of experts with impeccable credentials to represent academe, government, and industry.

“With the appointment of these individuals from academe and industry with expertise in the field of political science, international relations, foreign relations, and governance, the Commission is looking forward to the development of a roadmap for the discipline and strategic reforms in the development of human resources needed in the country and overseas,” said CHED Chairman J. Prospero E. De Vera III.

Heading the TPPS is Dr. Francisco A. Magno, an Associate Professor of the Political Science Department and Director of the Social Development Research Center, De La Salle University. He is a recipient of the Outstanding Young Scientist Award from the National Academy of Science and Technology and has served as President of the Local Governance Training and Research Institute Philippines Network (2016-2018) and Philippine Political Science Association (2015-2017).

Representing the academe is Dr. Clarita Carlos, a distinguished professor of political science at the University of the Philippines, Diliman. Her long experience as a Political Science professor, first woman and civilian president of the National Defense College of the Philippines (NDCP), and track record in research will be harnessed in the technical panel. Professor Carlos was appointed Maximo Kalaw Professor of Peace and Environment and Elpidio Quirino Professor of International Relations.

Dr. Rosalie Arcala Hall is a professor of political science at the University of the Philippines-Visayas and an incumbent member of the Technical Panel. She has been a visiting researcher at Loyola University Chicago, Meiji University, University of Innsbruck, Indonesia Center for Strategic and International Students and East West Center Washington, D.C.

Representing industry is Dr. Emmanuel C. Lallana. He is the Chief Executive of Ideacorp – a non-profit organization which focuses on using information and communications technology (ICT) in governance, education, business and for the economy. He is also the current Digital Development Advisor of UN/ESCAP Asia Pacific Training Center for Information and Communication Technology for Development (APTCICT) in Incheon, Korea.

Dr. Fermin Adriano serves as Senior Advisor of the Conflict, Security and Development Team of the World Bank-Manila and has been instrumental in providing technical guidance in the socio-economic development of Mindanao over the past decade. He has served the government as policy adviser to the Office of the Presidential Adviser on the Peace Process.

Representing the government in the Technical Panel is Atty. Maria Anthonette C. Velasco-Allones, the current Chief Operating Officer of the Tourism Promotions Board (TPB) Philippines. She previously served as the Executive Director of the Career Executive Service Board (CESB) and Assistant Secretary of the National Defense and Department of Labor and Employment. Atty. Velasco is a recipient of the “The Outstanding Young Men” Award for government service – public administration/human resource development.

The seventh member of the TPPS is Ambassador Carlos D. Sorreta, a lawyer and career diplomat with 30 years of extensive experience in Philippine Foreign Service. Ambassador Sorreta served as Director-General of the Foreign Service Institution and Assistant Secretary for American Affairs as well as Special Assistant to the President, Secretaries of Foreign Affairs and Undersecretary for Policy. He is currently Philippine Ambassador to Russia.

“I would like to thank the new members of the Technical Panel on Political Science for agreeing to help the CHED as we redefine and reengineer the higher education sector particularly the supply and demand of human resources from the field of political science. The synergy between experts from academe, industry and government will help ensure that the Commission gets expert advice, and more importantly help shape and develop an improved political science degree in the country,” De Vera said.

Earlier, the Commission constituted two technical panels, namely, the Technical Panel for Agriculture and Technical Panel for Public Administration and Governance. Technical Panels in the other disciplines are being reconstituted by the Commission pursuant to CHED Administrative Order No. 3, series of 2019 which implements the mandate of the Commission under RA 7722.

Commission on Higher Education

Download PDF version