The Commission on Higher Education (CHED) has appointed new technical panel members in the fields of public administration and agriculture to carry out the mandate of the Commission to harness the equal representation of the academe, government and industry in curriculum reform and ensure that academic programs produce the needed manpower for local and international needs.

“The reconstitution of technical panels is anchored on the need to align higher education to standards, priorities and needs in international, regional, and national settings. The experts from academe, government and industry will assist the Commission in policy formulation and implementation consistent with the principles of transparency, accountability and participation,” said CHED Chairman J. Prospero E. De Vera III.

“For a very long time, government agencies and industry have been complaining that our graduates do not possess the skills and competencies needed in the workplace. The curriculum of all degree programs has been revised consistent with the inclusion of the senior high school and the adoption of the K-!2 program. We are now reconstituting the Technical Panels of all disciplines to continue the reforms in higher education so that graduates become employment ready consistent with national and international needs,” De Vera added.

Appointed as Chairperson of the Technical Panel for Public Administration is Professor Dan A. Saguil, Dean of the National College of Public Administration and Governance (NCPAG) of the University of the Philippines, Diliman. The members representing the academe include Professor Jose Tabbada of NCPAG, UP Diliman and Dr. Ederson Delos Trino Tapia, Dean, College of Continuing Advanced and Professional Studies of the University of Makati. President Ma. Lourdes Tiquia of the Universidad de Manila, a recognized long-time public administration practitioner, represents both local government universities and colleges (LUCs) and industry in the panel.

Second District of Rizal Representative Juan Fidel Nograles is the Vice Chairperson of the House Committee on Higher and Technical Education and former Davao del Norte Governor Antonio Rafael Del Rosario represent the government. Ms. Sandra Paredes, who has worked with League of Provinces of the Philippines (LPP) and the Union of Local Authorities of the Philippines (ULAP) also joins the technical panel. The Technical evaluators who have also been appointed to assist the Technical Panel in the review of program applications are Dr. Rizalino Cruz and Dr. Kristoffer Berse, both Assistant Professors of Public Administration from NCPAG, UP Diliman.

For the Technical Panel for Agriculture, CHED approved the appointment of Dr. Glenn Gregorio, Director, Southeast Asian Regional Center for Graduate Study and Research in Agriculture (SEARCA) as the Chairperson of the CHED Technical Panel for Agriculture (TPA). Its members from the academe are represented by Dr. Candida Adalla and Dr. Domingo Angeles, former College of Agriculture deans from the University of the Philippines-Los Banos, and Dr. Danilo Abayon from Aklan State University. Representative from the industry is represented by Ms. Nikole Ma. Nimfa Alicer, farmer and founder of Kalipayan Farms. The appointment of Dr. Aimee Lyn Dupo, Secretary, UPLB Graduate School and Professor of the Institute of Biological Sciences at University of the Philippines Los Baños was approved as a technical evaluator (TE). The Commission will soon appoint TP on Agriculture members to represent the government.

The Technical Panel members have a term of 4 years. They are expected to assist the Commission in providing technical expertise, particularly in the development of disciplinal and degree program roadmaps; review, revision and updating of PSGs based on the policy direction set by the Commission and consistent with local, regional, and international needs and industry trends; develop or revise Policies and Guidelines on Centers of Excellence and Centers or Development (COE/COD) for the various disciplines and in the crafting of monitoring and evaluation instruments and systems, as well as orientation of technical evaluators, among others.

On the other hand, the technical evaluators (TEs) are group of experts and/or specialists whose main function is to monitor and evaluate compliance of higher education institutions with the PSG set by the Commission, while the Technical Working Groups (TWGs) are experts and/or specialists created by the CEB for a specific deliverable or project-specific engagement as deemed necessary. The creation of a TWG shall include its specific terms of reference as well as duration of the project concerned.

CHED’s reconstitution of new Technical Panels and Evaluators is based on CHED Administrative Order No. 3, s. 2019 entitled, “Revised Policies and Guidelines in the Reconstitution of Technical Panels for Various Disciplines/Program Areas of the Commission on Higher Education.” There are 100 Technical Panel discipline areas where CHED will tap renowned experts to compose said panels which shall have equal representation from the academe, industry, government agencies and professional organizations, as provided by the said order.

“The reconstitution of technical panels is grounded on the alignment of higher education to standards, priorities and needs in international, national and local settings. This is to ensure the employability of Filipino workforce and strengthen the Philippine higher education as a center of quality higher education in the ASEAN region,” De Vera said.

Commission on Higher Education